Research Guides: HIST 293: Manchus in China (HC): Background Information

Handbooks and Histories

The following sources provide overviews of Chinese history and culture. They are a quick way to find out the basic facts and recent scholarly interpretations.
When using an article in an encyclopedia or handbook, always check the bibliography for further reading at the end of the article. It will provide a selective list of the books, articles, and, frequently, Web resources considered to be the most up-to-date and reliable.

Cambridge history of China
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This multiple-volume history provides detailed analyses of pertinent social, political, and economic issues. See:
Vol. 9 The Ch'ing Dynasty to 1800, Part 1
Vol. 9 The Ch'ing Dynasty to 1800, Part 2
A Companion to Chinese History
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This book offers a comprehensive overview of the latest intellectual developments in the study of China's history with scholarship by top historians from both China and around the globe. See in particular Chapts. 11 "Periods of Non-Han Rule" and 23 "Ethnicity, Nationalism and Identity.."
Also available in Tripod in print.
A Companion to Chinese Art
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive volume that includes two dozen essays spanning the theories, genres, and media central to Chinese art and theory throughout its history.

Literature Reviews and Bibliographies

History Compass
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Offers interpretive essays highlighting recent scholarship. Titles of interest among the literature reviews include:
"The Greater Game: Qing China in Central Eurasia" -Ying-kit Chan (2016)
"Late Qing Multilingualism and National Linguistic Practice in the Qing Borderlands" - Jiani He (2017)
"Repositioning History for the Future - Recent Academic Debates in China" - Ines Eben v.Racknitz (2014)
“'Writing History in the Digital Age': The New Qing History Project and the Digitization of Qing Archives - Liping Mao and Zhao May (2012)
Oxford Bibliographies Online Chinese Studies
- This link opens in a new window
Extensive annotated bibliographies on specific topics in different subject areas written by scholars in the field. New entries are added twice a year. Some selected essays of interest are listed below. BMC students connect to the Haverford icon rather than the linked titles. Login with your BMC credentials to access essays from the Chinese Studies collection.
"Intellectual Trends in Late Imperial China"
"Late Imperial Economy 960-1895"
"Literati Culture"
"The Marketing System in Pre-Modern China
"Material Culture"
"Qing Dynasty up to 1840"
"The Tribute System"
Chinese History: A New Manual
This new edition features informed introductory essays, side bars and tables, and comments for nearly every title cited, those written in Chinese and other languages as well as English. See Chapters 32 (Fine Arts) and 33 (Architecture), pages 415-430, for information and resources. Check the subject index for additional topics.

Primary and Secondary Sources
In this bibliography, Professor Akcetin recommends titles of primary and secondary sources relevant to the course, with a focus on the early Qing period.

Websites

Manc.hu
Website dedicated to providing Manchu source material for those interested in Qing history. The Resources page (under Tools) identifies some 200 books, articles, and images of interest. First-time users need to fill out a brief registration form.
Manjurist: Things Related to Manchu Language and Poetry
Blog includes some English translations of Manchu poetry.
Saksaha: A Review of Manchu Studies
This open access journal is published by the Manchu Studies Group and includes articles and book reviews about history, material culture and other subjects related to your class.
Tales of Manchu Life
This blog features text excerpts and translations from Manchu along with brief commentary.

Biographies

Biographical Dictionary of Chinese Women
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This is a four-volume set covering women from antiquity through the 20th century. See Volume 1 The Qing Period, 1644-1911.
Dictionary of Ming Biography, 1368-1644
Includes biographical entries for 659 individuals including some well known artists.
Eminent Chinese of the Ch'ing Period, 1644-1912
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Ebook copies from 2010 of the biographical dictionary first published in 1943-44. Valuable for its coverage of 817 officials, writers and other figures.