Research Guides: HIST 291: Indigenous Women: Gender, Ethnicity and Feminism in Latin America (HC): Primary Sources

Guides to Primary Sources

Free Digital Resources (Latin American Studies)
This extensive listing from Johns Hopkins includes visual resources.
Internet Sites with Primary Sources for History: Latin America (Bowling Green State University)
Extensive list of digital sources from a wide range of time periods and geography. Includes both texts and images.
Latin America: Primary Sources (University of California, Berkeley)
For the entries that have a Key icon, check the Tripod catalog for a local link.
Latin American and Caribbean Digital Primary Resources (SALALM)
Provides extensive links to open access digitized collections of primary sources that relate to Latin America and the Caribbean.
Latin American & Caribbean Resources: Digital Resources (Yale University)
Includes archival resource listings by country. Many of these websites are available open access. In general, when you connect to a link and are asked to use the hosting library's catalog or log in, instead check the title in our Tripod catalog. The resource probably requires a paid subscription. This guide features many of these resources which the Haverford libraries make available to the college community.

Online Source Collections

Catálogo Colectivo de Impresos Latinoamericanos
This online catalog is gathering records for all books printed in Latin America prior to 1851 as well as books in Spanish published in the United States and the Philippines. Later it plans to provide full-text access for titles.
Central American Broadsides
Dating from the 1820s to 1922, the broadsides are primarily Guatemalan, with a smaller number from Honduras, Costa Rica, El Salvador, and Nicaragua.
Colecciones Mexicanas
Provides access to collections and digitized images of documents and books from major libraries in Mexico. Note in particular the Archivo Franciscano.
Digital Archive of Latin American and Caribbean Ephemera (Princeton)
This is a very extensive collection that focuses on Lain America. Contains thousands of digitized pamphlets, brochures, flyers, posters, placards and other printed items created since around the last quarter of the 20th century.
Digital Library of the Caribbean
More than 60 organizations contribute digital resources from and about the Caribbean and circum-Caribbean.
Digital Library Collections (Columbia University)
Search across digitized rare materials including documents and photographs.

Digital National Security Archive (DNSA)
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Contains full text declassified government documents owned by the National Security Archive covering world events, countries, and U.S. policy decisions. Includes collections of indexed documents (with new collections added yearly), glossaries, chronologies, bibliographies, overviews, and photographs. Coverage from post-World War II to present.
Early English Books Online (EEBO)
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Contains digital images of virtually every work printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales and British North America and works in English printed elsewhere from 1473-1700. This collection contains about 100,000 of over 125,000 titles listed in Pollard & Redgrave's Short-Title Catalogue (1475-1640) and Wing's Short-Title Catalogue (1641-1700) and their revised editions, as well as the Thomason Tracts (1640-1661) collection and the Early English Books Tract Supplement. Includes books, pamphlets, manuscripts and newspapers.

Ecclesiastical and Secular Sources for Slave Societies
Makes available over 300, 000 documents from Brazil, Colombia, Cuba, and Spanish Florida. The largest number date from the 18th and 19th centuries, but there is material from earlier periods as well. Note, as an example, a transcription of baptismal records from Havana, 1590-1600 which documents family and social networks for individuals who are frequently categorized with a racial term.

Eighteenth Century Collections Online
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Offers full-text access to English-language titles and editions published between 1701 and 1800 including books, pamphlets, almanacs, Bibles and treatises. Subjects covered include history, geography, fine arts, medicine, science, literature, language, religion, philosophy and law. Significant collections of women writers, collections on the French Revolution, and numerous eighteenth-century editions of the works of Shakespeare are also included.

Freedom Archives: Central and South America
Open access collection of audio and video recordings and documents which date from the late-1960s to the mid-90s. Intended to chronicle the progressive history of the Bay Area, the United States, and international movements.
Latin American & Caribbean Digital Primary Sources
Provides extensive links to open access digitized collections of primary sources that relate to Latin America and the Caribbean.
Latin American Government Documents Archive
Preserves the texts of important government publications. Notes also the related links available on the site.
Latin American Pamphlet Digital Collection
Harvard University Library has digitized more than 5,000 rare pamphlets from the 19th and early 20th centuries.
Latin American Travelogues (Brown University)
Full text versions of travel accounts written in the 16th through 19th centuries.
Richard Oulahan Latin American Labor History Collection
Go to the linked page for information about collections at Haverford College (both digital and in print). Richard Oulahan, class of 1967, worked in Latin America from the late 1960s through the mid-1990s. He donated pamphlets, reports, and other material created in and about countries in Latin America.
Sourcebook on Colonial Latin America (Fordham University)
This project is under development but includes documents and letters concerning the Jesuits in colonial Latin America.
Twentieth Century Latin American Pamphlets (Rutgers)
Covers pamphlets from all of Latin America with more material on Argentina, Chile, Paraguay, and Uruguay.
World Scholar: Latin America & the Caribbean
- This link opens in a new window
This link to the Historical Collections section demonstrates the range of material available from documents connected with the discovery and conquest to the FBI File on the American Churchwomen Killed in El Salvador, December 1980.

Sources in Printed Form

Primary sources that have been edited, reprinted in facsimiles, or collected in sourcebooks and anthologies can be located in the Tripod catalog. Search under the subject term "sources" combined with your topic.

The subject search "latin america*" history sources produces books including:

Annals of Native America: How the Nahuas of Colonial Mexico Kept Their History Alive
Born in Blood and Fire: Latin American Voices
Colonial Latin American History: A Documentary History

Latin American Religions: Histories and Documents in Context

Women and Gender in Modern Latin America: Historical Sources and Interpretations

Note also that additional titles can be found and requested through E-ZBorrow and WorldCat . Expand your options beyond the Tricollege collections.

Images Sources

Archive of Early American Images (Brown University)
Provides access to nearly three thousand images from Spanish American sources including maps, prints, and book illustrations.

ARTstor
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A digital library that provides access to thousands of digital images derived from a variety of museum, library and archival collections. Images support a variety of disciplines including architecture, painting, sculpture, photography, decorative arts, and design. Coverage varies.

Chilean Protest Murals
Harvard University Library makes available this collection of over 500 photographs. The murals were created between 1983 and 1990 during Pinochet's regime.
Latin American Posters Collection
Princeton has digitized and cataloged close to 4 thousand posters. They come from "a wide variety of social activists, non-governmental organizations, government agencies, political parties, and other types of organizations across Latin America."
Vistas: Visual Culture in Spanish America, 1520-1820 (Smith College)
Themes treated include metizaje, politics, religion, and material culture. "The website provides a gallery of more than 100 color images, interpretive essays, and a searchable bibliography on visual culture."

HIST 291: Indigenous Women: Gender, Ethnicity and Feminism in Latin America (HC)

Oral History Resources

Indigenous Resources

Women's Studies Resources

Selected Primary Sources

Guides to Primary Sources

Online Source Collections

Sources in Printed Form

Annals of Native America: How the Nahuas of Colonial Mexico Kept Their History Alive

Born in Blood and Fire: Latin American Voices

Colonial Latin American History: A Documentary History

Images Sources