Research Guides: SOCL 358: Sociology of Higher Education (BMC): Background Reading

Best Bets for Getting Started

Reference sources and scholarly books can provide a good overview of a topic. Look for literature review chapters and/or bibliographies that can point you to other books and articles that specifically address your research question.

Annual Review of Sociology
In publication since 1975, covers the significant developments in the field of Sociology. Topics include major theoretical and methodological developments as well as current research in the major subfields.

Oxford Bibliographies in Sociology
Offers peer-reviewed annotated bibliographies on sociology.
Oxford Bibliographies in Education
Offers peer-reviewed annotated bibliographies on the study of education. Bibliographies are browseable by subject area and keyword searchable.

Sociology of Education: A critical reader (2015)
ISBN: 9781138842977

This comprehensive and bestselling reader examines the most pressing topics in sociology and education while exposing students to examples of sociological research in schools. Sociology of Education will stimulate student thinking about the important roles that schools play in contemporary society and their ability to solve fundamental social, economic, and political problems.
The Routledge International Handbook of the Sociology of Education (2010)
ISBN: 9780415486637

This collection brings together the work of a group of leading sociologists of education to explore and address key issues and concerns within the discipline. The chapters provide 'state of the art' accounts of contemporary educational processes, global trends, and changing and enduring forms of social conflict.