Research Guides: CHEM 225: Lab in Chemical Structure and Reactivity (HC) Spring 2021: Find Sources

*Best Bets"

Scifinder
A core research tool for the chemical literature, indexing journal articles and patent records, as well as chemical substances and reactions. You can search by topic, author, and substances by name or CAS Registry Number, OR use the editor to draw chemical structures, substructures, or reactions.
Use of this database is restricted to the TriCollege community. You must set up a user name & password the first time you use this database.
PubMed
Free database of biomedical and related life and behavioral sciences journal articles. Includes MEDLINE index and links to PubMed Central open access articles when available.
Web of Science
Find multidisciplinary scholarly articles (sciences, social sciences, and humanities). Citation searching also allows search for highly cited articles and books.

Additional Resources

Dictionary of Natural Products
A comprehensive database of 170,000 natural products which includes: names and synonyms, formulae, chemical structures, CAS Registry Numbers, extensive source data, uses and applications, physical state, melting point, boiling point, pKa, and key literature citations, as well as a comprehensive type of compound classification scheme which brings together compounds that are biogenetically related. All information is searchable by text or by substructure.
Annual Reviews
A searchable collection of critical review articles capturing the current understanding of a topic, including what is well supported, what is controversial, and where further research is needed.
Reaxys
Reaxys is a web-based search and retrieval system for chemical compounds, bibliographic data and chemical reactions. Combined data from three sources: The Beilstein Database, The Gmelin Database, and The Patent Chemistry Database.
American Chemical Society (ACS) Publications
Provides links to journals and magazines published by the American Chemical Society.
ScienceDirect
Provides full-text,online access to journal articles in the life, physical, medical, technical, and social sciences. Full-text is available only for journals to which the TriColleges subscribe. Full-text access for most journals goes back to 1993. Abstracts are available for non-subscribed journals.

Protein Data Bank Repository of information about the 3D structures of large biological molecules, including proteins and nucleic acids.
The BRENDA (BRaunschweig ENzyme DAtabase) enzyme portal BRENDA contains 2.7 million manually annotated data on enzyme occurrence, function, kinetics and molecular properties. Each enzyme is linked to primary literature references. BRENDA connects to 7 other databases to afford access to structural data.
Drug Information Portal (NIH) Hosted by the National Library of Medicine, this is a quick way to search or browse drugs by name or drug class. For each entry, you are linked to authoritative scientific articles, chemical structures and data, toxicological studies and reviewed biological and medical data.
ExplorEnz-The Enzyme Database It is the definitive list of 6,400, produced by the Nomenclature Committee of the International Union of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology (NC-IUBMB). Each entry has accepted name, synonyms of the enzyme, cross references to BRENDA, KEGG, MetaCyc and CAS registry number, literature reference and comments on cofactors etc. The search function allows you to find EC no. by a common enzyme name. Use the enzyme list as an Enzyme Nomenclature Book.
more... less...

ExplorEnz is designed, developed and maintained for the IUBMB by Andrew McDonald (School of Biochemistry & Immunology, Trinity College, Dublin 2, Ireland)
Kirk-Othmer encyclopedia of chemical technology In the Reference section: TP9 .K54 2004. To scout out whether this PRINT set will have useful topics for you, search the Online version of Kirk-Othmer. You can do search by keywords but also good to browse by topic (left navigation) to pull up a list of interesting compounds in context. When you have determined that it is useful for you, come into the library and look at the article(s) by using the print index volume. We have 2 print editions and by looking through both editions, you often get MORE info than the online edition!
Kyoto Encylopedia of Gene and Genomes (KEGG) Pathway Data Base. KEGG PATHWAYS database has maps for metabolism. Use it as a reference chart, or branch out to other concepts and substances. For example, you can look up an enzyme and retrieve the 3D protein structure and also cross over to the primary literature in Pubmed.
The Merck Manual of Medical Information -- Professional Edition Last updated 2013. Explains disease etiology, symptoms, diagnosis, complications, treatment and prevention. Numerous sections for browsing, as well as normal values for clinical tests, and multimedia. The section on Infectious Diseases is especially relevant for this course.
MetaCyc Database of Metabolic Pathways MetaCyc contains curated, experimentally-determined metabolic pathways and enzyme data extracted from primary research articles. The largest classes of information include biosynthesis of secondary metabolites and primary metabolites (amino acids, lipids) and degradation/utilization/assimilation among others. These pathways are from organisms from all domains of life.
Proteopedia Proteopedia is an interactive resource that facilitates understanding the role of 3D protein structures have in their biological function http://proteopedia.org. Proteopedia is widely used in scientific research, in the preparation of papers for publication and teaching from secondary level to post-graduate.
PubChem PubChem, released in 2004, provides information on the biological activities of small molecules. PubChem is organized as three linked databases These are PubChem Substance, PubChem Compound, and PubChem BioAssay. To find unique compounds, search PubChem Compound. Each record links to PubMed scientific literature and other biological and physical data.
Wiley Online Library We have access to most journal articles in the last 10 years. Click on the PDF icon and confirm you want the article when asked. This is available at no cost to you since Haverford subscribes to it.