A digital library that provides access to thousands of digital images derived from a variety of museum, library and archival collections. Images support a variety of disciplines including architecture, painting, sculpture, photography, decorative arts, and design. Coverage varies.
Part of the Wellcome Library collection, Wellcome Images "contains historical images from the Wellcome Library collections, Tibetan Buddhist paintings, ancient Sanskrit manuscripts written on palm leaves, beautifully illuminated Persian books and much more."
Include photographs, fine and popular prints and drawings, posters, and architectural and engineering drawings. While international in scope, the collections are particularly rich in materials produced in, or documenting the history of, the United States and the lives, interests and achievements of the American people.
Encyclopedia of Nineteenth-Century Photography
Includes 1200 essays on historical photography worldwide. Coverage includes all the key people, processes, equipment, movements, styles, debates and groupings which helped photography develop from being ‘a solution in search of a problem’ when first invented, to the essential communication tool, creative medium, and recorder of everyday life which it had become by the dawn of the twentieth century.
Encyclopedia of twentieth-century photography
While it only has a few entries on Japanese photographers they are useful. Also helpful are the entries on genres (landscape, portrait) and techniques.
The NYPL Map Warper is a tool for digitally aligning ("rectifying" or "georectifying") historical maps from the NYPL's collections to match today's precise maps. Visitors can browse already rectified maps or assist the NYPL by aligning a map. Watch a video to tour the site and learn how to rectify a map yourself.
The Urban Archives was established in 1967 to document the social, economic, and physical development of the Philadelphia area from the mid-19th century to the present. The Archives functions as a repository for organizational records and related materials, and as a research facility for those interested in urban studies. The Archives collections are particularly strong in areas involving social service organizations, unions, housing development, community organizations, and contain many records from organizations involved with African Americans, education, and crime. The Archives also contains the photo archives of the Philadelphia Inquirer and the Evening Bulletin. A large number of images are available through an online catalogue, Digital Diamond.
Limited reference service is provided by the Archives staff. Please check ahead before visiting.