CITY 217: Research Methods

Provides population, housing, economic and geographic data from the latest Decennial Census, the Economic Censuses and Surveys, and the American Community Survey. Users can view reference maps and create comparison tables and thematic maps which can be downloaded and printed. Coverage varies.

Provides detailed profiles of all of the countries of the world. Offers information on each country's geography, people, government, economy, communications, military, and transnational issues, as well as maps and flag images. Covers 2000 - present in PDF; current interactive edition is continually updated.

List of links to foreign governmental statistics departments.

A single entry portal for UN databases. Find data series by searching or browsing by theme. Includes Country Profiles, Advanced Search and Glossaries to aid research. All countries and a wide range of themes are covered.

World Development Indicators (WDI) is the primary World Bank collection of development indicators, compiled from officially recognized international sources. It includes more than 1100 indicators on population, income, social, economic, financial, natural resources, and environment, covering 210 countries and 18 regional and income groups. Also includes the International Debt Statistics (IDS) database. Data ranges from 1960-present.

Formerly LexisNexis, find newspaper and magazine articles, news transcripts, reference works, and legal materials, including Supreme Court cases. Includes the New York Times from 1980-present.

Contains more than 37,000 annual time series of quantitative historical information covering population, work and welfare, economic structure and performance, governance, and international relations. Covers the colonial period to the present.

The ProQuest Statistical Abstract of the United States is the authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic conditions of the United States. (2013-Present)