Research Guides: Library Resources and Research (HC): Citations

Citation Manuals and Guides

The most commonly used citation styles are those created by the Modern Languages Association, the American Psychological Association, and the University of Chicago. See resources below for details. For information about other citation styles, see:

Citation (Tricollege guide)

Research and Citation Sources (Purdue OWL (Online Writing Lab)

Chicago Manual of Style (Online)
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This 2017 edition of the handbook provides guidance on documenting sources and on writing style. Itis particularly helpful in providing instructions and examples for online publications and websites.
Chicago Manual of Style Documentary Note System (Williams College)
This page explains the system using separate bibliographic notes for citations rather than including them in the text as in often done in science papers. Examples are included for the different kinds of publications most often used by history students.
Chicago-Style Citation Quick Guide
Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A standard guide for writers in the social and behavioral sciences. Here it is in its 2020 edition in print copies. Many students prefer APA's in-text citation style.
APA Style Guide to Electronic References (Online)
- This link opens in a new window
OWL Purdue Online Writing Lab: APA Style Guide
Created by the Writing Lab at Purdue University, this web site provides concise information on APA Guidelines, writing guidelines and citation & bibliography examples.
MLA Handbook (2021)
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The MLA's Handbook is a standard source for advice on formatting and documenting research in literature studies; it contains useful information on all matters pertaining to writing papers. See the online companion, the MLA StyleBbook, for answers about citations.
OWL Purdue Online Writing Lab: MLA Style Guide

Citation Manager

Zotero:

The Tri-College Libraries recommend Zotero, a free online app that can format your bibliography, keep your citations organized, and even save your articles in the cloud so you can access them later from the library, home, or a café.

Zotero: A Citation Tool

A Tri-college guide to installing and using Zotero to save your references and then cite them in footnotes and the computer-generated bibliography.

Zotero Tutorial

See Zotero in action with librarian Brie Gettleson. Walk through important processes including creating folders, saving citations from the Tripod catalog and other sites, tagging saved journal articles by keywords, and creating bibliographies and footnotes.