Research Guides: ARTD 225 Dancing Histories/Writing Dance (BMC): Finding Articles

Search Article Databases

ProQuest Performing Arts Database‎
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This database, formerly known as "International Index to the Performing Arts" provides abstracts and full-text to journal articles. Covers a broad spectrum of the arts and entertainment industry including dance, film, television, theater, opera, and broadcasting. Covers 1864-present.
JSTOR
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text and page images from many of the top journals in most academic disciplines. Coverage is from the inception of the journal through three to five years ago.
Arts & Humanities Citation Index
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Citations to more than 1,300 arts and humanities journals and to relevant articles on arts and humanities in over 5,800 social science and science journals. Records include articles, bibliographies, editorials and reviews. Covers 1980-present.
ProQuest Research Library
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides citations and full-text magazine and journal articles in a wide variety of disciplines, both scholarly and popular in scope. Covers 1971-present.

Browse

Dance Research Journal
CORD publishes the Dance Research Journal (DRJ) three times per year. DRJ is a peer-reviewed premiere publication for dance scholarship of international reach and includes articles, book reviews, and lists books received. Published articles address dance history, theory, pedagogy, politics, science, ethnography, and intersections with cultural, gender, critical race, and diasporic studies among others. Access its articles through our Performing Arts databases.

Looking for Historical, Sociocultural, and Political context?

Scholarly Journals and Popular Magazines: What's the difference?

Scholarly journals are written by and for experts in a field. The articles tend to be long and contain many citations and footnotes.

Popular magazines are written for a more general audience, and authors tend to be journalists or staff writers. The articles usually don't provide footnotes or detailed citations.

For a more detailed analysis of the differences between these types of publications, see:

Scholarly vs. Popular Periodicals video (Vanderbilt University)
This short video introduces the main differences between these two types of publications.