Research Guides: Advanced Research Strategies (HC): Research from around the World

Journal Indexes for World Regions and Cultural Groups

Africa-Wide
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Offers access to multi-disciplinary information on Africa including books, journal articles, maps and music recordings. Some materials are in full-text. Covers 19th century-present.
Bibliography of Asian Studies
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides citations to journal articles, book chapters, conference proceedings, anthologies, and Festshriften on all subjects pertaining to East, Southeast, and South Asia. Covers 1971-present. Complete citations end with the 1991 records. Since 1992, newly published books are no longer being added.
Bibliography of Indigenous Peoples in North America
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Focuses on all aspects of Indigenous culture, history, and life primarily in North America. Provides citations for newspapers, magazines, academic journals, books, reviews, and trade publications from the United States and Canada with expanded content from Great Britain and Australia.

Black Life in America: The Experience and Impact of African Americans as Recorded by the News Media
- This link opens in a new window
Newly created resource. Delivers full texts and videos from more than 19,000 American and global news sources, including over 400 current and historical Black publications from 1704 to the present. To start use the Suggested Searches to find subtopics or enter a keyword search.
DialNet
This is a virtual library of Ibero-American scholarship, hosted by the University de la Rioja in Spain. It indexes more than 11,000 journals and 8+ million documents. There are a growing number of full-text articles available as content is continuously updated. All subjects covered. Texts are mainly in Spanish with Portuguese, Catalan, English and other languages also included.

HAPI: Hispanic American Periodicals Index
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Contains citations to scholarly journal articles published in Latin America, Mexico, Central America and the Caribbean, and to materials that address this region and U.S. Hispanic topics. Covers political, economic, and social issues. Some citations link to full-text articles. Covers 1970-present.

Hispanic Life in America
- This link opens in a new window
Offers an expansive window 1704-2009 into Hispanic American history, culture, and daily life -- as well as the ways the dominant culture has portrayed and perceived people of Hispanic descent. The content in HLA is sourced from more than 17,000 American and global news sources, including over 700 Spanish-language or bilingual publications. The database covers many topical categories such as arts and entertainment, civil rights and activism, immigration and citizenship, sports and athletes, labor, religion, science and technology, and society and culture.
HLAS Online: Handbook of Latin American studies
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Covers books, book chapters, articles, and conference papers published in the field of Latin American studies and edited by the Hispanic Division of the Library of Congress. Good for material written in Spanish.

Index Islamicus
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Offers citations to literature on Islam, the Middle East and Muslim areas of Asia and Africa, and Muslim minorities elsewhere. Includes citations to journal articles, essays in books, and book reviews from 1906 to present.
Informe Académico
- This link opens in a new window
Full-text database of Latin American academic journals in social sciences, humanities, science and medicine. Also covers popular Latin American and Hispanic magazines and newspapers.

Persée
Offers open access to French scholarly journals as well as books and conference proceedings. See also Cairn, a comprehensive collection of French language periodicals in the social sciences and humanities disciplines. Haverford does not have a subscription to Cairn, but it can be searched without a subscription for citations.

Publicaciones y Revistas Sociales y Humanísticas (PRISMA)
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Covers all aspects of Hispanic studies, from research on indigenous cultures past and present to current economic indicators, politics, society, and Hispanic theater. Disciplines covered include anthropology, economics, history, literature, political science and sociology. Includes works in English and Spanish.
RAMBI: Index of Articles on Jewish Studies This link opens in a new window
Offers citations to journal articles and essays in books relating to Jewish Studies and to Israel. Material comes mainly from the holdings of the Jewish National Library. Covers 1966-present.

Digizeitschriften
A German language open access collection of journal articles. There are separate collections for many fields in the humanities and social sciences with some coverage of the natural sciences as well.
Isidore (Centre national de la recherche scientifique)
A database of scholarship in the humanities and social sciences; many available full text. Especially useful for its coverage of journal articles, reports and books published in French.
SciELO
Collection of journals in the natural sciences from Latin America, Iberia and South Africa.