Background - HIST 118: Introduction to the History of Science - Historical Maps(HC)

Mapping the World

Thomas Holme. A Portraiture of the City of Philadelphia. 1681.

Quaker & Special Collections.

Reference Works on Exploration and Cartography

Cartography in the European Renaissance, Parts 1 and 2
These volumes are part of the University of Chicago series, The History of Cartography. Published volumes cover Antiquity, the Middle Ages, the modern era and the traditions of the Middle East, Africa, Australia and North America. The volume for the 18th century has not yet been published.
Encyclopedia of Exploration to 1800
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Extensive reference work on explorers, map makers, travel, and colonization through the early modern period.
Encyclopedia of World Trade
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This reference on the history of trade in all time periods traces interaction of commerce, travel and culture in detail. See articles of interest including Cartography and "Exploration and Trade."
Oxford Companion to World Exploration
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This two-volume set provides more than 700 articles covering exploration and navigation research from an historical perspective..

History of Science Encyclopedias and Dictionaries

Cambridge History of Science. Volume 2 Medieval Science and Volume 3 Early Modern Science
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Chapters are written by experts in the various fields, providing subject overviews, analysis and recommendations for further reading. Vol. 3 covers the early modern period and Vol. 4 the 18th century. Vols. 3 and 4 are also available as ebooks at Bryn Mawr.

A Companion to the History of Science by Bernard Lightman (Editor)
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
ISBN: 1118620771
Publication Date: 2016-04-11
Provides a single-volume overview of current scholarship in the history of science edited by one of the leading figures in the field. Features forty essays by experts which reflect new approaches in the field. Essays include"The Alchemist", The Medieval University" and "The Court".

Complete dictionary of scientific biography
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides information on the history of science through articles on the professional lives of scientists from all time periods. Search the word "Cartographers" for profiles of such prominent figures as Ortelius and Anville.
Science and its times
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This set addresses the varied social impacts of science, medicine, and technology. Volume Two focuses on the Middle Ages and Volume Three covers 1450-1699. The volumes are divided into broad science categories with relevant biographical sketches for each section.

Encyclopedias and Handbooks for History

The following sources provide overviews of ideas, people, and events in the history of the early modern period. They are a quick way to find out the basic facts and current points of debate.

When using an article in an encyclopedia or handbook, always check the bibliography for further reading at the end of the article. It will provide a selective list of the books, articles, and, frequently, Web resources considered to be the most up-to-date and reliable.

Oxford Dictionary of the Middle Ages
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive reference work covering key aspects of European history, society, and culture from 500 to 1500 A.D., as well as the Byzantine Empire and Islamic dynasties. Contains illustrations and maps. Most entries offer bibliographies. See the related articles list in the left-hand column for a fuller understanding of topics.

Encyclopedia of Tudor England
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Primarily spans the period from the accession of Henry VII in 1485 to the death of Elizabeth I in 1603 with some background for the eras preceding and following the Tudor monarchs.
Europe 1450 to 1789
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Online subject encyclopedia for early modern Europe which provides historical background for specific topics as well as broader issues. The bibliographies at the ends of articles are good places to find more information.
Oxford Handbook of Early Modern European History, 1350-1750
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This two-volume set analyzes a broad range of crucial topics and provides select bibliographies of authoritative sources. Essays of special interest include:
"The Cartographic Emergence of Europe?" Vol. 1, 37-69
"Exploration and Navigation" Vol. 2, 173-199
"Trade and the Global Economy" Vol. 2, 307-333

HIST 118: Introduction to the History of Science - Historical Maps(HC)

Class Librarians

Literature Reviews

Mapping the World

Reference Works on Exploration and Cartography

History of Science Encyclopedias and Dictionaries

Encyclopedias and Handbooks for History

		Sarah Horowitz Curator of Rare Books & Manuscripts and Head of Special Collections Contact
		Margaret Schaus Research and Instruction Librarian Contact