Research Guides: LATN 102: Introduction to Latin Literature: Comedy (HC): Finding Criticism

Relief of Menander with New Comedy masks

Princeton Art Museum (Source: Wikimedia Commons)

Criticism in Journals

Année Philologique
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Annèe Philologique is useful for researchers in the classics, philosophy, history, art, archaeology, and the humanities. It contains publication information for articles for the years 1924 to the present.

Journal articles and other periodical publications provide scholarly information on specific aspects of classical literature and history. Since articles are generally published on a shorter schedule than books, they can be more-up-to-date. The following indexes are the best ways for you to identify journal articles.

Gnomon Online
This online index is maintained by the venerable German journal Gnomon. It allows you to search by title word, author, and journal name, as well as by subject terms established in the Thesaurus in both German and English.
Note that the citations listed represent only 15% percent of the total listings in the Gnomon Bibliographische Datenbank (which is not accessible in the three colleges).

TOCS-IN: Tables of Contents of Journals of Interest to Classicists This link opens in a new window
Provides the tables of contents from a selection of Classics,Near Eastern Studies, and Religion journals. Subjects covered include: Greek and Latin linguistics and literature, Greek and Roman history, archaeology, mythology,and the Ancient Near East. About ten percent of the entries link to the full text of the articles. Covers published works from 1992-present.

Finding Criticism in Books

Use the Tripod catalog to look for relevant books owned by Haverford, Bryn Mawr and Swarthmore.

The following subject searches are a sampling of possibilities. To find materials on a topic, try doing a keyword search in the Tripod Catalog to find some relevant material and then use the subject headings assigned to those titles to find more books

literature and society rome [Subject Search]

latin drama (comedy) history and criticism [Subject Search]

"terence criticism" [Subject Phrase Search then sorted by the newest publications first]

Also note these collections of articles which assemble a selected group of criticism from leading scholars:

Oxford readings in Menander, Plautus, and Terence. Edited by Erich Segal. Oxford University Press, 2001.

Rethinking Terence. Special issue of Ramus 33, 1-2 (2004). Edited by A. J. Boyle.

Use WorldCat to find books not held by the tri-college libraries.

Tripod: Books & More
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The library catalog of Bryn Mawr, Haverford and Swarthmore Colleges. Use Tripod Books and More to find relevant books, journals, dissertations, films, and other material owned by the tri-college libraries. Click on the "request" button at the bottom of an item's record to have it delivered to Magill or another library.

WorldCat
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A catalog of the holdings of books, journals, and other materials held by OCLC (Online Computer Library Center) member libraries. Includes manuscripts, maps, films and sound recordings. Covers works published before 1,000 BC-present.

Borrowing Beyond the Tri-Co
Request items that are not available in Tripod through E-ZBorrow or Interlibrary Loan. Note that E-Z Borrow is the first place to look for books not in Tripod. It usually takes just three days for E-Z Borrow books to arrive. Books not in E-Z Borrow can come from Interlibrary Loan (ILL) which may take as little as four or five days to arrive.

For journal articles not available in the three colleges, use the Article Delivery form. In around 3 days you will receive a digital copy of the requested articles in your email.