Research Guides: HIST 350: Madness (HC): Handbooks and Encyclopedias

History of Medicine Encyclopedias and Dictionaries

Complete dictionary of scientific biography
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides information on the history of science through articles on the professional lives of scientists. All periods of science from classical antiquity to modern times are represented.
Cultural sociology of mental illness : an A-to-Z guide
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Edited by Andrew Scull, an historian who has done significant work in the history of madness. See articles by contributors including "Mental Illness Defined: Historical Perspectives", "Mental Institutions, History of", "Therapeutics, History of" and "trade in Lunacy."
Dictionary of medical biography
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Check Appendix 2 for individuals involved in Psychiatry to find informatiive entries involving such figures as Bernard Mandeville (1670-1733) and Philippe Pinel (1745-1826).
Encyclopedia of asylum therapeutics, 1750-1950s
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The author researched in reports, studies and personal narratives to to describe treatments across three centuries.
Oxford Handbook of the History of Medicine
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
See essays on medicine in different time periods as well as "Medicine and the Mind."
Routledge history of madness and mental health
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Chapters by researchers cover time periods from antiquity to the modern era as well as themes ("Madness in Western literature and the arts" and "From the perspectives of mad people").
Science and its times
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This set addresses the varied social impacts of science, medicine, and technology. See the appropriate volume for the time period you are researching ( Volume Two the Middle Ages, Volume Three 1450-1699, etc.). The volumes are divided into broad science categories with relevant biographical sketches for each section.

Encyclopedias for History

The following sources provide overviews of ideas, people, and events in the history of the Middle Ages and the early modern period. They are a quick way to find out the basic facts and current points of debate.
When using an article in an encyclopedia or handbook, always check the bibliography for further reading at the end of the article. It will provide a selective list of the books, articles, and, frequently, Web resources considered to be the most up-to-date and reliable.

Oxford Dictionary of the Middle Ages
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive reference work covering key aspects of European history, society, and culture from 500 to 1500 A.D., as well as the Byzantine Empire and Islamic dynasties. Contains illustrations and maps. Most entries offer bibliographies. See the related articles list in the left-hand column for a fuller understanding of topics.

Oxford Research Encyclopedia of American History
- This link opens in a new window
Currently offers over 500 substantive, peer-reviewed, and regularly updated essays concerning American history. New essays are added regularly. Especially useful for analysis and discussion of recent scholarship. Note the bibliographies and references to related articles at the ends of entries. Use the Browse by Subject link to see listings by topic area. Unfortunately as of Sept. 2023 there are no articles dealing in large part with mental illness or suicide.
Women and Gender in Medieval Europe: An Encyclopedia
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
See relevant articles including: "Madness" "Doctors and Healers," and "Christina the Astonishing."