Research Guides: HIST 350 and 354: Technologies as Politics in Early Modern Europe and Technologies of Information in Early Modern Europe (HC): Primary Sources

Collections Online

American and French Research on the Treasury of the French Language Project (ARTFL)
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text access to classical French writings. Includes literary works, political tracts, philosophical writings, technical treatises, and dictionaries.

British History Online (Open Access)
Searchable primary sources on British history. Use the Advanced Search page to find material on a specific topic.

Burney Collection Newspapers Archive, 17th & 18th Century
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides full text to the newspapers and news pamphlets gathered by the Reverend Charles Burney (1757-1817), representing the largest single collection of 17th and 18th century English news media. The 700 or so bound volumes of newspapers and news pamphlets were published mostly in London, however there are also some English provincial, Irish and Scottish papers, and a few examples from the American colonies, Europe and India. Cross-search all Cengage subscribed newspaper collections via NewsVault.

Early English Books Online (EEBO)
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Contains digital facsimile page images of virtually every work printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales and British North America and works in English printed elsewhere from 1473-1700 - from the first book printed in English by William Caxton, through the age of Spenser and Shakespeare and the tumult of the English Civil War. For enhanced searchable texts, use the Early English Books Online Text Creation Partnership.

Eighteenth Century Collections Online
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Offers full-text access to English-language titles and editions published between 1701 and 1800 including books, pamphlets, almanacs, and treatises. Subjects covered include history, geography, fine arts, medicine, science, literature, language, religion, philosophy and law.

Titles from ECCO appear in Tripod's Books and More. Look for the subject division "Early Works to 1800" in the filters next to the results list. You can further refine titles by limiting to publication dates in the 1700s.
18thConnect This link opens in a new window
A web portal and research environment devoted to digital projects concerning the 18th century. Many primary texts and images are accessible by subject, author, and other categories. Use the Advanced Search to refine by format, discipline, genre, and so on.
- Only some content will be available full text.. Please contact a subject librarian to find full-text copies of sources not available in 18thConnect.

Electronic Enlightenment
- This link opens in a new window
Searchable and browsable database offering extensive access to the web of correspondence between the greatest thinkers and writers of the long eighteenth century and their families and friends, bankers and booksellers, patrons and publishers. Coverage includes letters and documents, document sources such as manuscripts and early printed editions, scholarly annotations, and links to biographies, dictionaries, encyclopedias, newspapers, and other online resources.
Gallica
Gallica is a digital library of French and francophone culture maintained by the Bibliothque nationale de France. Contains numerous electronic texts, images, maps, animation, and sound files of French and other publications in history, literature, science, philosophy, law, economics, and political science. Covers the Middle Ages to the present.
Medieval and early modern sources online
- This link opens in a new window
A collection of medieval and early modern digitized editions of texts concerning economic, political, legal, and ecclesiastical history, such as treasury accounts and chronicles. Most are from England, Ireland, and Scotland, although some are from the continent and from British colonies. Searchable by name and location.

Books Relating to 18th Century France (at Bryn Mawr College)
Special Collections librarians at the Bryn Mawr College Library have collected a number of books printed in France in the early modern period. See this list for an idea of some of the titles they own. Please contact librarian Marianne Hansen for more information.
Eighteenth-century coffee-house culture
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This four-volume set gathers primary sources about coffee houses in Britain and the kinds of activities that occurred there especially in terms of information gathering and dispersal.

Email Me

Subjects: Africana & Black Studies, Cities, Classics, History, Latin American & Iberian Studies, Political Science, Writing Program

Primary Sources in Class on February 27
Titles included books from the Rare Book collection at Bryn Mawr, facsimiles borrow from Swarthmore and Bryn Mawr, and digital copies from Early English Books Online and Eighteenth Century Collections Online.