Research Services for Faculty
Subject librarians work closely with individual departments to assist faculty in their research projects and in preparing courses. We can help you plan research strategies, access key databases, and stay current in academic fields. Please take advantage of these services and ask about more:
Inquiries and Research
- Quick answers that can save you time. “I have part of a citation but can’t find the article.”
- In-depth research help with resources and databases that librarians use with facility. “The cited reference search in the Web of Science indicates that Bennett’s article has had an impact beyond the field of gender studies.”
- Orientation to research in a field or topic area that is new to you
- Notifications about relevant new titles from your departmental librarian
Information Management and Publishing
- Advice on data access, manipulation, and storage
- Assistance in working with different formats (image, film, audio), including access, rights, and reproduction
- Help with managing citations through bibliographic software like Zotero and EndNote
- Information about publishing, copyright, review sources, and the ways that libraries provide access to scholarship
Work with Students and Classes
- Initial training for your student research assistants and support for them throughout their projects
- Course guides tailored to the topics in your individual class and the needs of your students
- Class instruction on research methods and resources pertinent to specific projects. Faculty decide on the length of the session and location (classroom or library).
- Workshops (outside of class) teach a variety of proficiencies which students need as they progress toward the senior capstone project. Faculty can recommend workshops to students in order to build their skills.
- Librarians meet individually with students to give them guidance throughout the research process. They facilitate students’ use and understanding of a wide array of materials, both print and digital, available beyond the collections in the tri-colleges.
Collections and Resources
- Library collections at Haverford that support your teaching and research interests can be developed through a partnership with your departmental librarian.
- Library staff have extensive experience in acquiring material published across the globe, out-of-print titles, and other hard-to-get items.
- There are additional relevant collections at Bryn Mawr and Swarthmore, most materials deliverable within 24 hours.
- Assistance in identifying rare materials in tri-college collections that will serve teaching and research needs. Also help in finding digital or microfilm copies of rare materials along with information about where the original material can be viewed.
- A wide array of resources beyond the tri-colleges is available with expedited services through E-Z Borrow, Interlibrary Loan, and Article Delivery.
- Haverford faculty members have privileges to borrow materials at the University of Pennsylvania and may use collections at Princeton and other research libraries through Haverford’s membership in SHARES
Digital Scholarship
- Digital Scholarship staff works with faculty, students and Instructional and Informational Technology Services Staff to produce digital projects for classes and for longer term projects.
- For more information, see: the Digital Scholarship website.
