Research Guides: Monumental Brasses (HC): Using Journal Articles

Using Journal Articles

Journal articles and other periodical publications provide scholarly information on specific aspects of topics. Articles are generally reviewed by editors prior to publication, giving authors the opportunity to strengthen their arguments. The following indexes are the best ways for you to identify journal articles related to your interests.

Art Full Text
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Offers abstracts of journals, museum bulletins and yearbooks in the fields of art, architecture, decorative arts and photography. Covers abstracts from 1929-present, full-text articles 1997-present.

Bibliography of British and Irish history
Indexes historical writing dealing with the British Isles, and with the British Empire and Commonwealth, during all periods of history. Note that you can specify the exact time period that you are searching.

Feminae This link opens in a new window
Provides abstracts and/or citation information to journal articles, book reviews and essays about women, sexuality and gender in Europe, North Africa and the Middle East, from 450 C.E. to 1500 C.E. Covers materials published since 1990.
International Medieval Bibliography Online
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides abstracts and citations to articles on medieval subjects in journals, Festschriften, conference proceedings, and collected essays. Covers all aspects of medieval studies within the period 450 to 1500 for Europe, the Middle East and North Africa.
Iter
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A bibliography of interdisciplinary journal literature pertaining to the Middle Ages and Renaissance, (400-1700). Includes articles, reviews, bibliographies and discographies.

Other Indexes

There are also indexes devoted to religion and literature that may be of use for specific topics:

ATLA Religion Database + ATLA Serials (American Theological Library Association)
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides online access to the entire core collection of more than fifty significant scholarly journals in the field of religion. Also provides citation information for journal articles, book reviews and essays for over 600 journals in the fields of religion and theology. Covers 1949-present.
Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA and RILA) This link opens in a new window
Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA) and Répertoire international de la littérature de l'art (RILA). Abstracts of journal articles, books, conference proceedings, dissertations and exhibition and dealers' catalogs. Includes European and American art from late antiquity to the present. Covers material published between 1975-2007. Use International Bibliography of Art for coverage of publications after 2007.
MLA International Bibliography
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Database of scholarly books and articles related to literature, language, linguistics, film, theater and folklore. Includes scholarship from 1926 to the present.