The national professional association for genealogists. Provides standards for research, conference opportunities, news and suggestions for beginners. See their journal, The National Genealogical Society Quarterly.
Contains full-text articles about the cultural life and history during the 1800s, including presidential and congressional addresses, Congressional abstracts, business and commodity markets, the humanities, world travel and religion. Also contains large numbers of early biographies, vital statistics, essays and editorials, poetry and prose, and advertisements all of which embody the African-American experience. Covers 1827-1902 (with gaps).
Offers images and full-text content access to historic newspapers listed in Clarence Brigham's authoritative bibliography, History and Bibliography of American Newspapers, 1690-1820, and in additional subsequent bibliographies through the Civil War, Reconstruction, Progressive Eras and beyond. Series 1, 1690-1876; Series 2, 1758-1922; Series 3, 1829-1922; Series 4, 1759-1922; Series 5, 1777-1922; Series 6, 1741-1922; Series 7, 1773-1922.
Wide-ranging collections of information for conducting genealogical and local history research. Includes: digitized images of the United States Federal Census from 1790 forward; the American Genealogical Biographical Index; Passenger and Immigration Lists Index; United Kingdom and United States Directories 1680-1830; court, land, and probate records; and many other resources. Tip: If you're presented with a message that the page isn't redirecting properly, try turning off the third party cookies in your browser.