HIST 354: Amazons and Viragos: Gender and Power in Early Modern Europe (HC)

Presents a review of research on women and gender in early modern Europe from a multi-disciplinary perspective. The authors examine women's lives and ideologies of gender in the disciplines of history, literary studies, art history, musicology, history of science and medicine, and religious studies.

Surveys the history of women around the world, their interaction with men in gendered societies, and the role of gender in shaping human behavior. Discusses family history, the history of the body and sexuality, and cultural history alongside women's history and gender history. Considers the importance of class, region, ethnicity, race and religion to the formation of gendered societies. Contains both thematic essays and chronological-geographic essays.

This Companion focuses on European art produced between 1300 and 1700, presenting a variety of thematic essays written by art historian experts to give an overview of the broad topic. Note in particular the pieces dealing with gender: "The Desiring Eye: Gender, Sexuality, and the Visual Arts;" "From Oxymoron to Virile Paintbrush: Women Artists in Early Modern Europe;" "The Material Culture of Family Life in Italy and Beyond;" and "The Nude Figure in Renaissance Art." Also available as an ebook.

In this wide-ranging and authoritative collection, old and newer areas of research into the Ancien Regime are presented and assessed, and there has been no attempt to impose any sort of consensus. The result shows what a lively field of historical enquiry the Ancien Regime remains, and points the way towards a range of promising new directions for thinking and writing about the intriguing complex of historical problems which it continues to pose.

Many essays present the Baroque as a broad cultural phenomenon that arose in response to the enormous changes emerging from the 16th century: the division between Catholics and Protestants, the formation of nation-states and the growth of absolutist monarchies, and the mutual impact of European and non-European cultures.
See in particular: "Court Spectacle and Entertainment", "Fashioning the Baroque Male" and "Baroque Sexualities."

TThis Handbook re-examines the concept of early modern history in a European and global context. Volume I examines 'Peoples and Place', assessing structural factors such as printing and the revolution in information. Volume II covers Cultures and Power with such essays as "Households and Family Systems", "Social Roles and Individual Identities" and "Towns and Urbanization."

From the exemplary to the notorious to the obscure, this comprehensive and innovative encyclopedia showcases the worthy women of early modern England. Poets, princesses, or pirates, the women of power and agency found in these pages come from many walks of life, and many will be new even to scholars in early modern studies. Entries are arranged thematically rather than by alphabet, allowing for more informative comparisons.

Contains biographies of people who shaped the history of the British Isles and beyond from the earliest times to the year 2001. Articles focus on noteworthy people from all walks of life.

The Encyclopedia of Women in World Historycaptures the experiences of women throughout world history in a comprehensive, 4-volume work. Although there has been extensive research on women in history by region, no text or reference work has comprehensively covered the role women have played throughout world history.

The collaborative research of this book covers four themes: the affective world; practical knowledge for life; politics and religion; arts, science and humanities. These themes are interwoven through the chapters, which encompass all areas of women's lives: sexuality, emotions, health and wellbeing, educational attainment, litigation and the practical and leisured application of knowledge, skills and artistry from medicine to theology.

The Cultural Identity of Seventeenth Century Woman brings together extracts from a wide variety of sources to illustrate the ways in which the cultural notion of "woman" was constructed. Although the dominant ideology was unquestionably patriarchal, and many of its manifestations were misogynistic and determined to keep women in their place, it was also diverse, self-questioning, contradictory and committed to loving rather than authoritarian relations between the sexes. This fascinating collection of opinions from both men and women enables informed discussion of the key issues of gender and identity in the seventeenth century.

"This collection resurrects an extraordinary array of women's writings from the mid-sixteenth through the seventeenth centuries. The focus of English Women Voices is not on females writing "literature" but on the actual lives of women, as described in their own words. The work is organized around such themes as health care, religion, politics, marriage, and education, an approach that cuts across genre and chronology and shows the significant contributions of women to their culture. Recorded in diaries, letters, sermons, pamphlets, formal petitions, health manuals, trial records, biographies, and autobiographies, the words escape from the past, as vital as current events. The opening section, "Women Testifying to Abuse," candidly describes aspects of female life that even today often remain secret. The final section, which records the voices of women preaching, will touch a nerve in women who still struggle for the right to be heard from the pulpit. Each section begins with an introduction that situates the writing in its historical context; each introduction has a suggested-readings list that opens the subject to further research." "Burdened by what were perceived as the metaphysical, moral, and physiological limitations of women, the authors of these writings were enjoined to silence. Though sometimes published in their own day, the works were subsequently interred in research libraries or on microfilm. Vibrant with personal concerns, these voices will pierce the consciousness of twentieth-century readers and contribute to scholarship in literature and history courses and in all aspects of gender studies."--BOOK JACKET.

The editor pulls together extracts from primary sources dealing with theology, physiology, conduct, sexuality and motherhood, politics and law, education, work, writing and speaking, and proto-feminisms.

Frith maintains that many women's history sources reflect either the bias of their male recorders or their female writers' sense of propriety. This collection of primary documents and essays from the early modern period in England encompasses court records concerning issues of infanticide, abortion, wife beating, and crime. It also presents diaries, letters, orations, and the like of such individuals as a gambling duchess, a botanist, a widow head of household, and a cross-dressing queen of the London underworld. The first of a series, this volume gathers a unique set of primary resources for study. - Library Journal

This anthology gathers together various texts by and about women, ranging from `conduct' manuals to pamphlets on prostitution, from medical texts to critical definitions of women's writing, from anti-female satires to appeals for female equality.

Excerpts from primary source material deal with "Bodies," Religion, Beliefs, Spirituality," "Work," "Poverty and Property," "Sexual Experiences," "Marriage," "Maternity," "Relationships," "Politics and Protests, and "Mental Worlds."