Research Guides: HIST 358: The Self before the Selfie (HC): Visual Sources

Sources for Images

ARTstor
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
ArtStor presents a rich collection of digital images drawn from colleges, universities and museums. At the top of the page, click on "Enter Artstor Digital Library" and either login or sign up at the top of the page. By registering on the site you can make personal image group folders and download images.
Use the Advanced Search to specify geographic areas, time periods, subjects and artistic forms.

Banque d'images (Bibliothèque nationale)
Many images from the Bibliothèque national's collection are searchable here.
British Printed Images to 1700
This website presents a database of prints and book illustrations that is searchable by subject, artist, date, and technique.
Collection Online (British Museum)
Gives access by topic, time period, artist and more to a wealth of digitized prints, artifacts and many other objects at the British Museum.
Connoisseurs, Collectors and Dealers of Asian Art in France, 1700-1939
This database, available in French and English, contains over 800 entries. Most combine biography with cultural history.
Entries often include photographs of artwork.
Digitized Images from the Bodleian Libraries
Oxford University makes these digital collections available open access.
Note in particular:
•Educational Ephemera and Childrens Games of the 18th and 19th Centuries,
•18th Century Entertainment Ephemera,
•John Johnson Collection [advertisements, political cartoons, etc. from the 18th, 19th, and early 20th centuries]

Hogarth's Satire on Marriage

William Hogarth, Marriage à la Mode #2, circa 1743. London, National Gallery.

Source: Wikimedia Commons

Popular Prints

For visual evidence, popular prints are a good source. The tricolleges have a number of books reproducing prints from the 18th century, including the titles listed below.

For background information on satire more broadly, see: The Oxford Handbook of Eighteenth-Century Satire

The Age of Caricature by Diana Donald
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Publication Date: 1996-03-27
The late eighteenth century in England was the first great age of cartooning, and British caricature prints of the period have long been enjoyed for their humour and vitality. Now Diana Donald presents the first major study of these caricatures, challenging many assumptions about them.
Bawdy Brits and West End Wit by Phillip Earenfight (Editor)
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Publication Date: 2011-02-01
Caricature Unmasked by Amelia F. Rauser
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Publication Date: 2008-04-01
"This book is the first to examine the meaning encoded in the very form of caricature, and to explain its rise as a consequence of the emergence of modernity, especially the modern self."--BOOK JACKET.
City of Laughter by Vic Gatrell
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
ISBN: 0802716024
Publication Date: 2006-11-28
City of Laughter chronicles the rise and fall of a great tradition of ridicule and of the satirical, humorous, and widely circulated prints that sustained it. Focusing not on the polished wit upon which polite society prided itself, but rather on malicious, sardonic and satirical humor--humor that was bawdy, knowing and ironic.
Colorful Impressions by Margaret Morgan Grasselli; Kristel Smentek; Judith G. Walsh
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Publication Date: 2003-01-01
"An indispensable addition to the literature, this informative publication is not only one of very few books available in English on the subject, but it also reproduces for the first time all the featured prints in full colour. Authors examine the history, marketing, and collecting of these prints, as well as the tools, techniques, and papers used in making them."--BOOK JACKET.
Crime and the Law in English Satirical Prints 1600-1832 by J. A. Sharpe
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Publication Date: 1986-08-01
The Printmaking Revolution in Eighteenth-Century France
The English Print, 1688-1802 by Timothy Clayton
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Publication Date: 1997-12-22
Includes bibliographical references and index.
Fragonard amoureux. Galant et libertin by Faroult, Guillaume.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
ISBN: 2711862348
Publication Date: 2015
James Gillray: The Art of Caricature by Richard Godfrey; Mark Hallett
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
ISBN: 1854373641
Publication Date: 2001-06-01
Illustrating the full range of Gillray's social, political and personal satires, this catalogue shows the sophistication and diversity of his art, demonstarting that Gillray was not only the greatest satirical artist of the late18th century, but also one of the very greatest of printmakers and draughtsmen.
The Popular Print in England by Sheila O'Connell; British Museum Staff
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Publication Date: 1999-01-01
"This book is the first ever to explore the whole range of popular print production in England. The accompanying exhibition draws upon the holdings of the British Museum supplemented by rare examples from private and other public collections. Nearly 200 prints, often the single surviving impression, are illustrated here, and many have never been reproduced before."--BOOK JACKET.
Quand la Gravure Fait Illusion by Emmanuelle Delapierre
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Publication Date: 2008-08-05
This catalogue was published to celebrate the Feuille a Feuille, an initiative undertaken by the museum curators of the Nord-Pas-a-Calais region in 2006-2007 that provided the framework for an illuminating series of exhibitions around the subjects of prints and engravings from the Renaissance to the present day.
The Satirical Gaze by Cindy McCreery
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Publication Date: 2004-04-08
These satirical prints both reflected and sought to shape contemporary debate about the role of women in Georgian society.
Spectacle of Difference by Mark Hallett
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Publication Date: 1999-05-11
In this original book, Mark Hallett offers a new perspective on English satirical prints of the first half of the eighteenth century, recovering their dual status as ambitious works of graphic art & as eloquent pictorial commentaries on urban culture & politics.