Research Guides: HIST 358: The Self before the Selfie (HC): Journal Articles

Locating Journal Articles

Journal articles and other periodical publications provide scholarly information on specific aspects of European history. Since articles are generally published on a shorter schedule than books, they can be more-up-to-date. The following indexes are the best ways for you to identify journal articles related to your research.

Historical Abstracts
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides abstracts of journal articles, books, book reviews and dissertations that cover world history from 1450 to the present (excluding the U.S. and Canada which are covered in "America: History and Life"). Includes publications from 1953-present.
Searches allow you to specify date ranges. This can save you time.

Bibliography of British and Irish history
- This link opens in a new window
Indexes historical writing dealing with the British Isles, and with the British Empire and Commonwealth, during all periods of history. Note that you can limit results by historical time period.

Art Full Text
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Offers abstracts of journal articles, essays in books and other publications in the fields of art, architecture, decorative arts and photography. Covers scholarship from 1929 to the present.
ATLA Religion Database + ATLA Serials (American Theological Library Association)
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides online access to the entire core collection of more than fifty significant scholarly journals in the field of religion. Also provides citation information for journal articles, book reviews and essays for over 600 journals in the fields of religion and theology. Covers 1949-present.
Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides citations to journal articles, essays and other publications in the fields of architecture, city planning, interior design, historic preservation and archaeology. Covers 1930-present.

Isidore (Centre national de la recherche scientifique)
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A database of scholarship in the humanities and social sciences; many available full text. Especially useful for its coverage of journal articles, reports and books published in French.

MLA International Bibliography
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Database of scholarly books and articles related to literature, language, linguistics, film, theater and folklore. Includes scholarship from 1926 to the present.

Sociological Abstracts
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Find journal articles, essays in books, dissertations and more in the fields of sociology and related disciplines. Covers material published from 1963 to the present.

Literature Reviews

Literature reviews are a particularly useful resource when doing research. They address the issues involved in a particular question and the debates among scholars. They map out the intellectual terrain succinctly and give you the major landmarks in terms of key authors and significant titles for greater understanding.

History Compass
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This journal publishes literature reviews exclusively. See relevant articles including:
Race and Racism in the Global European World before 1800 - Andrew Wells (2015)
Shopping and the Senses: Retail, Browsing and Consumption in 18th-Century England - Serena Dyer (2014)
Political Arithmetic's 18th Century Histories: Quantification in Politics, Religion, and the Public Sphere - Ted McCormick (2014)
Cultural Skirmishes in 18th Century England: The Attack on Aristocratic Vice - Donna T. Andrew (2014)
British abolitionism and global empire in the late 18th century: A historiographic overview - Matthew Wyman‐McCarthy (2018)
A “Folk Biology” of racial theory? Psychology and the historiography of 18th‐century race thought - George T. Newberry (2018)
Oxford Bibliographies Online.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Extensive annotated bibliographies on specific topics in a variety of subject areas written by scholars in the field. This website is under development with new essays added twice a year.. Essays of interest now available include:
Eighteenth-Century Europe in the Art History section
The Enlightenment in the Atlantic History section
Scotland and the Atlantic World in the Atlantic History section
History of Aesthetics in the Philosophy section
Sociability in the British Atlantic in the Atlantic History section
Transatlantic Political Economy in the Atlantic History section
Art Theory in Europe to 1800 in the Art History section
Gardens in the Atlantic History section
Domestic Production and Consumption in the Atlantic World in the Atlantic History section
History of Music Theory. See the subsections in this bibliography which deal with the eighteenth century.

Dissertations & Theses
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Dissertations and Theses is a collection of scholarly research in the Humanities and Social Sciences that consists of 2.7 million searchable citations to dissertations and theses from around the world, and 1.2 million full-text dissertations that are available for download in PDF format. Coverage is from 1861 to the present day.

New Representations of Motherhood

George Romney,Portrait of Mrs. Henrietta Morris and Her Son John, 1777, private collection (Source: Wikimedia Commons)

Tracking Citations Forward in Time

Usually researchers find more sources by looking at the footnotes in an article or book, but these will always be older than the publication you have in hand.
Citation indexes like the Web of Science (which includes sections for the Social Sciences, Arts and Humanities, and Science) are set up to search for sources cited in the footnotes of journal articles as soon as they become available.

This allows you to find newer articles which cite the books and articles you already know are key for your topic. By relying on connections between authors rather than subject words and by moving forward in time, citation searching can open up new avenues of research.

See this tutorial for more information on cited reference searching.

Web of Science Citation Databases
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
When you connect, open the Basic Search tab to find the Cited Reference Search link to begin.
Enter the author's name: Last name first First name initial only with asterisk
Skip Cited Title box
Put the publication year in the Cited Year box
Under Current Limits, open Citation Databases and uncheck Science Citation Index and Conference Proceedings Science.
On the next screen choose the relevant results based on the Cited Work titles.
The results screen shows the newest articles first. Most records include a summary of contents, so that you can determine how relevant they may be for your research.
Google Scholar
To search for cited references in Google Scholar, enter the title of the article or book in quotation marks. In the results list, check the link Cited by [number] for material citing the title you have entered.
Bonus Google Scholar includes books in its results. Web of Science is limited to journal articles only.